How to share your location with friends and family using Google Maps

How to share your location with friends and family using Google Maps

There are a variety of apps offered with which you can share your place with family and friends. They usually work as meant, some of them trigger personal privacy issues. Here’s how you can share your area utilizing Google Maps rather.

Because personal privacy is on the brain– more so just recently than ever– you might wonder regarding what Google Maps show individuals you pick. While not as intrusive as some apps like Life360, there’s still a great little details shown family and friends. That information consists of:

  • Your name and profile picture
  • Your real-time place
  • Your gadget battery status
  • Your tagged areas like work or house

While that might appear like a lot, you are in control of your area information at any time and can stop sharing when you please. The function shows to be incredibly helpful in numerous circumstances, such as relative who wish to keep tabs on one another or pals who are taking a trip and wish to remain safe

Sharing your place on Google Maps

Sharing your place is incredibly easy and can be carried out in a pinch if required. Remember, you’ll require to have the Google Maps app set up on your Android or iOS gadget, and it needs to be established with a Google account. When choosing individuals to share your place with, Google Maps will draw from your gadget contacts, so make certain to permit Maps access to your contacts.

Here’s how to share your place:

  1. Open Google Maps on your gadget.
  2. Tap your profile image in the leading right corner of the screen.
  3. Under the list of choices that appears, choose Place sharing
  4. Select a time period in between one and 12 hours or one complete day.
    • You can likewise select “Till you turn this off” which will share your place for as much as 24 hours if you are sharing a link. If sharing to a Gmail account, this alternative will permit always-on place sharing.
  5. Select the contact( s) you want to show.
    • You can discover more contacts by swiping all the method to the right and tapping More It might ask you to permit access to your contacts.
    • On Android gadgets, you might have the ability to share by means of an app such as Telegram or Messages. This will send your area in the type of a link through the app you select.
  6. After you make your choices, hit Share

Something to note is that you will not have the ability to leave area sharing on at all times if you are not sharing to a Gmail account. When sharing a link rather of straight to Maps through a Gmail account, the “Up until you turn this off” choice will last just 24 hours. With that in mind, sharing your area through Google Maps is simple to do and can be achieved quite rapidly.

FTC: We utilize earnings making vehicle affiliate links. More.


Have A Look At 9to5Google on YouTube for more news:

About the Author

Andrew Romero’s preferred equipment

Find Out More

Author: admin